Dent in the bumper- A Dummy’s Guide

So a couple of weeks ago, my wife and I did a senior photo shoot for a very beautiful young lady out in Smithville, Tennessee.  To see our work you can visit my facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/NathanGrantPhotography/

We stopped by Dollar General in Lascassas to grab a couple of items on our way back into town.  There was a questionable old truck parked beside me with a shady looking redneck in the driver’s seat.  Considering the value of my camera equipment I decided to check twice to make sure I had armed the alarm before leaving.  Because it was dark I noticed nothing at that moment and we went home.  The next day I discovered this huge dent in our bumper which had to have happened in the DG parking lot.  Believe me, I will have my eyes open because Lascassas is not that big.  It was apparent that it was red vehicle that hit me and the dent on their car will probably be on the front right bumper.  Have your camera rolling if I happen upon this low life bastard.

Here is what I discovered on our back bumper.

Here is what I discovered on our back bumper.

Anyhow, I had read that if you pour hot water onto the dent it will pop back out.  However, this dent was really deep.  We tried to pour hot water on the bumper twice and push it out but the clearance in the back was too small to really fit anything into to get the leverage to push the bumper out.  We decided to stop by Harbor freight in town the next time we were there and purchase a heat gun.  I also bought a suction cup that could help to pull it out.  The suction cup did not work because the dent was too deep and there was no surface to grab onto.  My only choice was to remove the tire and take off the bumper so I could get to the back of the dent.

The only way to get to this sadly was to remove the bumper.

The only way to get to this sadly was to remove the bumper.

Prying The underneathHeat gun from Harbor Freight

Not perfect by any means but still an improvement

Not perfect by any means but still an improvement

I removed the tire and began to unscrew the bumper and got it to the point where I could pull the bumper out far enough to safely get my hand in the back.  I got the heat gun plugged in and began to heat up the bumper until the paint started to bubble and the plastic could be moved.  With a gloved hand I reached behind and successfully pushed the dent out.  You can tell that the dent isn’t perfect but it is so much better.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Life. . . and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

